Ynnari; first impressions

Happy wargaming all!

This past weekend I got my first couple games with the new Gathering Storm 2 book, the Ynnari faction. I played 1200pts vs Tau, and 1000pts vs Chaos. Here I won’t go into any details about the games (I didn’t really record much of those games). So today I am going to talk about my first impressions of the book, and some highlights/tactical points. Bare in mind that I’m not a fantastic player, or look to use only the most powerful combinations. This is just one gamers opinion 🙂

Firstly, the Reborn warhost detachment is very powerful, especially if you meet the requirement of 7+ units. This is super easy to achieve, even at 1000pts. One of the main benefits having 7 units has is that it gives you 2 Soulburst activations rather than 1. This very powerful at any stage of the game. In the early turns, you can get extra shots with your long range firepower, or extra movement with fast units such as Warp Spiders, Windriders etc. In my case, I was running an Autarch with Banshee mask, Fusion gun and Hawk wings; being able to wreck a vehicle, then move 18″ was hugely advantageous. As well as the second unit’s Soulburst action. In later turns, it was great as I was able to perform some shenanigans. For example, I finished off some Kroot with my Dire Avengers, had the Autarch charge a Firewarrior squad (with no Overwatch), and then Avengers shoot another unit. Fantastic.

What I really loved was that I was able to interact with my opponent on their turn. It definitely influenced their strategy on how to deal with my army. Furthermore, it gave me a chance to answer a problem before it got out of control. In a Maelstrom game, the cards can still wreck you, but Soulburst can give you a fighting chance to table your opponent given how good eldar shooting etc can be. I think when I get the hang of positioning my units better, I wont miss out of any activations -it is criminal if you do! Make sure your units are buddied up in case the worst happens. I made this mistake a couple times, but only hurt me once.

This book is great, but where does it fall apart? Of course there are some restrictions and issues. Well the fact you have to be within 7″ of the destroyed unit means either your stuff is dying, or you are up close with the enemy. Perhaps a little too close, especially if you are in a meta that features close combat armies or about to be smashed by 20+ rapid firing Pulse rifles. Generally, being close to the enemy isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but requires you to have sufficient support to take advantage of Soulburst. I’d also say that in Maelstrom games, objectives win the game. Being in bubbles within 7″ of each other really hamstrings your ability to capture objectives unless you have a list that has this problem in mind. Therefore, you are in a bit of a tug-of-war between maximising Strength from Death and the mission objectives.

Another issue was that Strength from Death only activates for non-vehicle units. Eldar and Dark Eldar have some really nice vehicles that would love to be able to move, Flat Out or shoot etc that cannot take advantage of this rule. Don’t get me wrong, if one of your vehicles is destroyed your units within 7″ get to Soulburst. However, I feel this will influence the way you build your Reborn warhost to maximise the number of units that have to opportunity to Soulburst. In addition, it could lead you running units that you might not necessarily think is optimal. I could be a little paranoid and will have a play a few more games before my verdict is truly out.

Finally, there is no Ob. Sec. This I think will not generally be an issue, but certainly something to consider, especially competitively against Battle Companies with their 1 million Ob. Sec. units.

In summary, the book is a heap of fun- and iv not even scratched the surface with the special characters and formations. If you get the chance to try your Eldar/Dark Eldar/ Quins with this book then leave comment below as I would love to hear what your experiences have been like so far. Now I am eying up the Ulthwe strike force as that looks like it will cause most people many headaches.

Chris

 

Leave a Reply

